Bethlehem Press

Saturday, December 7, 2019


Wednesday, August 8, 2012 by The Press in Local News

Northampton Community College

Staff membered honored

The following Northampton Community College (NCC) faculty and staff members have recently received awards for excellence in their work. The awards and the recipients are: Christensen Excellence in Teaching: Charles Rinehimer, professor of biology; Support Staff Excellence Award: Diana Holva, financial aid/veterans' affairs assistant; Professional Staff Excellence: Carolyn Brady, director counseling and support services; Professional Staff Excellence: Tamara Tucker Mehlig, assistant to the president; Excellence in Teaching by an Adjunct Faculty Member: Richard R. Ruck Jr.; Excellence in Non-Credit Instruction: Rosemary Towne.

Students attend workshop

NCC was represented by Bethlehem and Hellertown students at the 20th Annual Beacon Conference for student scholars at two year colleges, held June 1 at Westchester Community College, Valhalla, N.Y.

Students who presented papers included Pamela Sutliff, "The New Homeless – Economic Recession Hits the Middle Class: A Proposed Sociological Study," and Abigail Tjaden, "The Mirror Image," both of Bethlehem; and at the conference's poster session, the presenters included Laura E. Halsel, "An Artist of a Kind," of Hellertown.

Allied Health appoints Meyers, Iacono

Two NCC graduates and faculty members have been appointed to program directors. Effective July 1, Sherri Meyers, professor of dental hygiene, became director of dental auxiliary programs and Steven Iacono, radiography faculty, was named director of the radiography program.

Jones named new VP

Bethlehem's Sherri Jones, a Cornell University graduate, has been named vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the Foundation at Northampton Community College.

She was a director of alumni affairs and the annual fund before serving as director of alumni affairs at Lafayette College and senior executive director of alumni affairs and communications at Columbia College, N.Y.C.

Her responsibilities will include overseeing fundraising, alumni relations, marketing, communications, special events and some auxiliary services. She succeeds Susan Kubik, who retired in June.

PRESS grant awarded to NCC

NCC is one of 15 colleges nationwide chosen to receive a $100,000 "PRESS (Persistence, Retention, and Student Success) for Completion" grant from the Walmart Foundation. The monies will enable the school to involve more full- and part-time faculty in efforts to improve student performance in math and English courses.

Northampton was selected because of its record as a leader college in the "Achieving the Dream," a national nonprofit organization committed to educational reform.

Sonography continued accreditation

The Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) has continued N.C. C.'s diagnostic medical sonography program accreditation for ten years. NCC offers both an associate degree and a specialized diploma, both of which allow the graduate the opportunity to sit for the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographer's (ARDMS) examination. As of August 2012, 78 students will have graduated from NCC's sonography program.

Northampton Community College's main campus is located at 3835 Green Pond Road. The Fowler Family Southside Center is located at 511 E. Third St. For more information, contact NCC at 610-861-5300 or 1-877-543-0998 or visit

Moravian College

Gratz named director of leadership giving

Robert Gratz, '75 became Moravian's director of leadership giving on August 1. He will be responsible for developing, maintaining, and sustaining relationships between Moravian College and its alumni and supporters.

Gratz earned a bachelor's degree in history and sociology and a certificate in secondary education from Moravian in 1975, a master's degree in secondary education administration from Lehigh University. He was given an honorary doctor of humane letters from Centenary College, Hackettstown, N.J.

He was the superintendent of schools for the Hackettstown (N.J.) Public Schools. He was named 2011-2012 campaign chair for the United Way in Warren County, N.J., and New Jersey Northern Region Superintendent of the Year in 2010.

He has received Moravian's 2006 Benigna Education Award for outstanding contributions to the field of education. A member of the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame, he is a recipient of the Gillespie Award for outstanding service to Moravian athletics.

Moravian College is located at 1200 Main St. For more information, call 610-861-1300 or visit