Bethlehem Press

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Freedom boys win Lion Invitational

Wednesday, September 5, 2012 by KATIE MCDONALD in Sports

For the second year in a row, Freedom's boys' cross country team won the Lion Invitational Cross Country Meet last Friday at Moravian Academy.

"It was a very good start to the season. I'm very pleased," said Freedom coach Bob Thear.

Chris Kelly led the boys' team with a second place finish in Class AAA, third place overall, in 16:53.

"After it settled in, I was really happy with our team's performance. 'Champions' is nice to say. It really shows what we can do," Kelly said. "My goal was to break 17, and once I saw I did that, I was really, really, really happy."

Also competing for the Patriots were Ben Ziegler (17:29), Dan Quigley (17:30), Robbie Bogardo (17:41), Doo Park (17:42), Tommy Salerno (18:39), and Kevin McPeek (19:11).

Thear wanted the boys to work together as a pack, stressing not to overexert themselves in the first mile, thereby being able to pick off the people who ran too hard.

Kelly said, "I went out a little faster than I wanted. I wanted to be tenth at the mile, but the first mile was faster than I expected. At the two mile mark, I started picking off a few kids who were falling off. I passed the last guy at the three mile mark."

Kelly, Ziegler, Quigley, Bogardo, and Park finished in the top 25 out of more than 160 runners.

"It was a good, positive start [to the season]. We're definitely not resting on our laurels, and we'll keep working," said Thear.

Alex Fitch finished first for Liberty with a time of 17:38. Ian Sell finished the race in 18:14, Matt Buell in 18:27, and Matt Allred in 18:30. Will Masemore ran the race in 18:33, and Collin Dugan in 19:01.

Runners for host Moravian Academy were Alec Talsania in 17:36, Corey Husick in 18:07, Casey Parent in 19:10, Daniel Snyder in 19:11, Josh Aurand in 19:22, Gareth Messman in 19:33, and Craig Appel in 21:07.

Runners for Bethlehem Catholic were Quinn Stasa in 20:03, Chris Landolfi in 21:07, Eric Braun in 21:08, Dominick Santanasto in 21:12, Mason Angstadt in 21:20, Patrick Langen in 22:31, and Tommy Horner in 23:00.