Bethlehem Press

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Lehigh County--Nothstein is new board chair

Tuesday, January 24, 2017 by Mark Reccek Special to the Bethlehem Press in Local News

Lehigh County Board of Commissioners recently met to reorganize for 2017.

Marty Nothstein of Lowhill Township was elected to serve as chair of the board and Amanda Holt of Upper Macungie Township is to serve as vice chairperson.

Nothstein replaces Commissioner Brad Osborne and Holt replaces Michael Schware.

In an email to The Press Jan. 6, Nothstein said he is excited to serve as chair and lead the nine member board.

“I am honored to be voted in as chair of the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners,” he said. “I look forward to serving the citizens of our great county and continuing the hard work and efforts the board has achieved to date.”

Osborne reflected on his time as chair, while noting progress made.

“I am pleased to have served as chairman for the last two years,” Osborne told The Press. “In that time, we’ve reduced taxes twice and passed several significant pieces of legislation unanimously. These accomplishments are a testament to the board’s conviction to serve our residents in a bipartisan fashion. People want their government to work for them, and we delivered.”

Nothstein praised Osborne for serving as chair.

“Commissioner Osborne has done a fantastic job leading our board the last two years,” he said. “His professionalism and attention to detail is second to none.”

“Marty will prove to be a strong and effective leader, and continue the success we’ve had in the last several years,” Osborne added.

Nothstein also said he is looking forward to working with county Executive Tom Muller in 2017.

Also during the meeting, the board’s 2017 meeting scheduled was set. The board meets 7:30 p.m. the second and fourth Wednesday of each month in the public hearing room of the Lehigh County Government Center, 17 S. Seventh St.