Bethlehem Press

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Young named All-State

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by Peter Car in Sports

Parkland’s Sam Iorio capped off his senior season with one last source of recognition when he was selected to the Pennsylvania sports writers Class 6A All-State first team. Iorio was one of five East Penn Conference players to be named to one of the three 6A teams, leading a strong class of local seniors from a tremendous winter.

Allen’s Tyrese Martin, Emmaus’ David Kachelries and Pocono Mountain West’s Jalen Vaughns were each named to the 6A second team, while Allen’s Tyreek Williams earned 6A third team honors.

Bethlehem Catholic junior center, Ryan Young, was named to the 4A third team, making him the only underclassman from the area to receive all-state honors.

Ramfis Rodriguez of Lincoln Leadership rounded out the local contingent by being selected to the Class A third team.

The complete list is below.


First Team

Izaiah Brockington, Archbishop Ryan, 6-4 Sr, 18.6 ppg

Sam Iorio, Parkland, 6-6 Sr, 25.0 ppg

DeShawn Millington, Carlisle, 6-1 Sr, 19.1 ppg

Andrew Petcash, Pine-Richland, 6-4 Sr, 21.0 ppg

Nick Smith, North Hills, 6-1 Sr, 26.0 ppg

Lonnie Walker IV, Reading, 6-5 Sr, 18.4 ppg

Second Team

Austin Butler, Greater Latrobe, 6-4 Sr, 29.2 ppg

Eric Dixon, Abington, 6-6 soph, 19.2 ppg

Justin Jaworski, Perkiomen Valley, 6-1 Sr, 22.2 ppg

David Kachelries, Emmaus, 6-0 Sr, 23.8 ppg

Tyrese Martin, William Allen, 6-6 Sr, 20.7 ppg

Stanley Scott, Williamsport, 6-3 Sr, 20.0 ppg

Jalen Vaughns, Pocono Mountain West, 6-5 Sr, 23.1 ppg

Third Team

Mark Flagg, Pennsbury, 6-8 Sr, 18.3 ppg

Drew Friberg, State College, 6-6 Jr, 17.3 ppg

Phil Jurkovec, Pine-Richland, 6-5 Jr, 16.0 ppg

Matiss Kulackovskis, Archbishop Ryan, 6-7 Sr, 17.7 ppg

Marc Rodriguez, Father Judge, 6-2 Sr, 19.7 ppg

Chris Whitaker, Harrisburg, 6-3 Sr, 19.8 ppg

Talek Williams, William Allen, 6-3 Sr, 17.8 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Lonnie Walker IV, Reading

COACH OF THE YEAR: Rick Perez, Reading


First Team

Eli Brooks, Spring Grove, 6-1 Sr, 29.7 ppg

Robby Carmody, Mars, 6-4 Jr, 26.2 ppg

Armoni Foster, Meadville, 6-2 Sr, 26.2 ppg

Taylor Funk, Manheim Central, 6-9 Sr, 24.3 ppg

Collin Gillespie, Archbishop Wood, 6-2 Sr, 22.7 ppg

Jarrod Simmons, Moon, 6-8 Sr, 19.1 ppg

Second Team

Jackson Danzig, Abington Heights, 6-5 Jr, 12.4 ppg

John Harrar, Strath Haven, 6-9 Sr, 19.5 ppg

Antonio Ionadi, Hampton, 6-2 Sr, 21.8 ppg

Tyler Norwood, Penncrest, 6-0 Jr, 23.0 ppg

Tyree Pickron, Archbishop Wood, 6-3 Jr, 13.5 ppg

Daeqwon Plowden, Mastery Charter North, 6-5 Sr, 16.0 ppg

Antonio Rizzuto, Northeastern York, 6-2 Jr, 19.0 ppg

Third Team

Cade Alioth, Mechanicsburg, 6-5 Sr, 18.5 ppg

Matt Cerruti, Archbishop Wood, 6-5 Sr, 12.0 ppg

Matt Faw, Upper Merion, 6-7 Sr, 18.0 ppg

Dylan Hastings, Solanco, 6-9 Sr, 18.8 ppg

Fred Mulbah, Northeastern York, 5-9 Jr, 16.7 ppg

Jamar Sudan, Chester, 6-6 Sr, 15.7 ppg

George Tinsley, Abington Heights, 6-5 soph, 13.2 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Collin Gillespie, Archbishop Wood

COACH OF THE YEAR: John Mosco, Archbishop Wood


First Team

David Beatty, Imhotep Charter, 6-3 Sr, 12.5 ppg

Josh Creach, Beaver Falls, 6-7 Sr, 23.0 ppg

Evan-Eric Longino, Germantown Academy, 6-5 Sr, 23.7 ppg

Kyle McCloskey, Germantown Academy, 6-5 Sr, 20.5 ppg

David Morris, Erie Strong Vincent, 6-1 Sr, 23.5 ppg

Daron Russell, Imhotep Charter, 5-11 Sr, 18.0 ppg

Second Team

Nick Alikakos, Episcopal Academy, 6-7 Sr, 17.0 ppg

Paddy Casey, Scranton Prep, 6-0 Sr, 15.1 ppg

Conner Delaney, Episcopal Academy, 6-0 Sr, 18.8 ppg

Amos Luptak, Quaker Valley, 5-11 Sr, 12.0 ppg

Nisheem McNeal-Wright, Universal Audenried, 6-2 Sr, 25.0 ppg

Will Myers, Clearfield, 6-3 Sr, 17.1 ppg

Donta Scott, Imhotep Charter, 6-7 soph, 10.6 ppg

Third Team

Logan Bailey, Scranton Prep, 6-3 Sr, 13.3 ppg

Marcus Hooker, New Castle, 6-0 Jr, 14.3 ppg

Patrick Robinson, Conwell-Egan, 6-2 Jr, 17.9 ppg

Geno Stone, New Castle, 6-1 Sr, 16.4 ppg

Coletrane Washington, Quaker Valley, 6-4 Jr, 15.0 ppg

Darius Wise, Beaver Area, 5-10 Sr, 25.0 ppg

Ryan Young, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-9 Jr, 13.9 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Daron Russell, Imhotep Charter

COACH OF THE YEAR: Andre Noble, Imhotep Charter


First Team

Mohamed Bamba, Westtown, 6-11 Sr, 14.0 ppg

Dhamir Cosby-Roundtree, Neumann-Goretti, 6-8 Sr, 16.6

Nelly Cummings, Lincoln Park Charter, 6-0 Sr, 29.9 ppg

Quade Green, Neumann-Goretti, 6-0 Sr, 22.8 ppg

Brandon Randolph, Westtown, 6-5 Sr, 18.9 ppg

Cameron Reddish, Westtown, 6-7 Jr, 16.2 ppg

Second Team

Joe Batt, Greenville, 6-2 Jr, 19.8 ppg

Antwuan Butler, Delaware Valley Charter, 6-0 Jr, 14.3 ppg

Timmy Edwards, Trinity, 6-4 Sr, 18.6 ppg

Austin Gilbertson, Trinity, 6-3 Sr, 15.4 ppg

Mahki Morris, Delaware Valley Charter, 6-3 Sr, 18.5 ppg

Matt Popeck, Washington, 6-1 Sr, 25.4 ppg

Brandon Stone, Southmoreland, 6-10 Jr, 25.0 ppg

Third Team

Michael Buckmire, Germantown Friends, 6-1 Sr, 22.1 ppg

Ja’Mier Fletcher, Steel Valley, 6-6 Jr, 19.0 ppg

Kenny Fukon, Cardinal Wuerl North Catholic, 6-2 Sr, 15.4 ppg

Etai Groff, Shady Side Academy, 6-3 Sr, 22.0 ppg

Matt Holsinger, Central Cambria, 6-6 Jr, 16.9 ppg

Melik Martin, York Catholic, 6-6 Sr, 16.7 ppg

Sam Sessoms, Shipley School, 5-11 Jr, 23.0 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Quade Green, Neumann-Goretti

COACH OF THE YEAR: Carl Arrigale, Neumann-Goretti


First Team

Malik Archer, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-4 Sr, 21.0 ppg

Brock Burleigh, North Penn-Mansfield, 6-5 Sr, 21.2 ppg

Tamir Green, Constitution, 5-8 Sr, 20.0 ppg

Chris Groetsch, Sewickley Academy, 5-10 Sr, 14.3 ppg

Nate Ridgeway, Sewickley Academy, 6-5 soph, 17.3 ppg

Maurice Waters, Constitution, 6-6 Sr, 16.0 ppg

Second Team

Dan Callen, Clarion-Limestone, 6-7 Sr, 18.9 ppg

Spencer DeMedal, Wilmington, 6-1 Sr, 20.7 ppg

Mitchell King, Bishop Canevin, 6-0 Sr, 19.0 ppg

Neal McDermott, Greensburg Central Catholic, 6-3 Sr, 20.4

Mason Mraz, Laurel, 6-3 Sr, 27.0 ppg

Justin Pryor, Sewickley Academy, 6-3 Sr, 14.3 ppg

Joel Santana, Shenandoah Valley, 5-11 Sr, 19.9 ppg

Third Team

Jeff Fry, Muncy, 6-0 Sr, 19.6 ppg

Jared Green, Coudersport, 6-0 Jr, 16.8 ppg

Tymair Johnson, Math, Civics & Sciences, 5-11 Sr, 9.2 ppg

Mike Joseph, Mahanoy Area, 5-11 Sr, 22.1 ppg

Brandon Mohammed, Marian Catholic, 6-5 Sr, 15.8 ppg

A.J. Myers, Chartiers-Houston, 6-1 Sr, 24.3 ppg

Jesse Turkson, Julia Masterman, 6-4 Sr, 21.4 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tamir Green, Constitution

COACH OF THE YEAR: Win Palmer, Sewickley Academy


First Team

Jaden Altomore, Monessen, 6-2 Sr, 21.9 ppg

Kevin Anderson, St. John Neumann, 6-5 Sr, 19.2 ppg

Maceo Austin, Kennedy Catholic, 6-4 soph, 19.2 ppg

Mikeal Jones, Girard College, 6-8 Fr, 22.0 ppg

Drew Magestro, Kennedy Catholic, 6-2 Sr, 20.0 ppg

Justice Rice, Monessen, 6-2 Sr, 18.7 ppg

Second Team

DeAireus Brown, York Country Day, 6-0 Sr, 19.7 ppg

Daiquan Copeland, Girard College, 6-4 Jr, 20.3 ppg

Nate DaCanal, Elk County Catholic, 6-2 Sr, 15.3 ppg

Dylan Gordon, Southern Fulton, 6-5 Sr, 20.0 ppg

Mikell McGee, Fannett-Metal, 5-9 Sr, 25.8 ppg

Jordan Ray, York Country Day, 6-3 Sr, 19.8 ppg

Kenny Robinson, Imani Christian, 6-1 Sr, 25.0 ppg

Third Team

Brady Fyfe, Shade, 6-3 soph, 23.0 ppg

Jalen Gorham, York Country Day, 6-5 soph, 15.7 ppg

Mohamed Konate, Kennedy Catholic, 6-4 Sr, 10.1 ppg

Nick Porter, Saltsburg, 6-0 Sr, 21.2 ppg

Ramfis Rodriguez, Lincoln Leadership, 6-3 Sr, 21.0 ppg

Zeke Snowden, Faith Christian, 6-5 Sr, 16.0 ppg

Marcin Wiszomirsky, Kennedy Catholic, 6-7 Sr, 13.0 ppg

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kevin Anderson, St. John Neumann

COACH OF THE YEAR: Rick Mancino, Kennedy Catholic