Bethlehem Press

Monday, June 1, 2020
2019 Bridges recipients honored 2019 Bridges recipients honored

2019 Bridges recipients honored

Tuesday, June 25, 2019 by ? ? in School

The Bridges Foundation was established to provide deserving students of the Bethlehem Area Vocational-Technical School the ability and financial support to fulfill career aspirations. The foundation provides support towards post-secondary education, the acquisition of tools and/or equipment and lastly to attend specialized training related to students career pathway. The selection for the students is determined by identifying multiple characteristics believe to be necessary for students to meet a successful post-high school experiences. The criteria included a review of academic and vocational accomplishments, occupational career aspirations, and interviews with a team of judges.

The Bethlehem Area Vocational-Technical School is proud to recognize the 2018-2019 Bridges Award recipients. These students have been awarded the following:

Sadie Abboud, LI $5,000 Walter Dealtry Distinguished Scholar Award

Amy Swierczek,NO $4,500 Dale Kochard Leadership Award

Wenger Abigail, LI $4,000 Elizabeth Mason Thun Scholarship

Batoussi, Jessica, LI $3,500 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Basic, Donna, LI $3,000 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Deschamps, Hazel,LI $1,500 King Spry, Herman, Freund, and Faul LLC Scholarship +

$1,500 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Garrett, Walter , LI $3,000 Porsche Automotive Award

Henry, Jeremiah, LI $1,000 Benjamin Knauss Memorial Scholarship +

$2,000 Risbon Family Scholarship

Capwell, Samuel, LI $1,500 Michael L. Albarell Electrical Artisan Award +

$1,000 Elizabeth Mason Thun Artisan Award

Galloway, Jared, LI $1,500 BEI Electrical Scholarship +

$1,000 Risbon Family Scholarship

Aszli, Brienna, LI $2,500 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Clark, Matthew, FR $1,000 Porsche Automotive Award +

$1,500.00 Joe and Shirley Knecht-Hixson Automotive Award

Lieberman, Sarah,NO $2,000 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Daniels, Justin , LI $1,000 Adam Fink Memorial Scholarship +

$1,000 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Conkle, Derek, LI $1,000 Albarell Electric Inc. Artisan Award +

$500 Elizabeth Mason Thun Artisan Award

Spadafora, James,FR $1,000 Luke and Barbara Cunningham’s Distinguished

School-to-Career Scholarship +

$500 Elizabeth Mason Thun Scholarship

Ramin, Shugufa, LI $1,000 Bridges Foundation Scholarship

Roan, Alex, LI $1,000 Porsche Automotive Scholarship

Fekete, Joseph, FR $1,000 Jerdon Construction Services LLC Carpentry Scholarship

Viera, Brianna, NO $1,000 Elizabeth Mason Thun Artisan Award

Students are pictured from left to right: Back Row: Joseph Fekete, James Spadafora, Justin Daniels, Samuel Capwell, Derek Conkle, Matthew Clark, Donna Basic and Jared Gallowary. Middle Row: Sarah Lieberman, Abigail Wenger, Hazel Deschampes, Amy Sweirzeck, Walter Garrett, Jessica Batoussi, and Sadie Abboud. Front Row: Shugufa Ramin, Brianna Viera, Brienna Aszli, Alex Roan and Jeremiah Henry.