Bethlehem Press

Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset Copyright - Copyright 2019. All rights reserved. Processed with VSCO with g3 preset Copyright - Copyright 2019. All rights reserved.

Anna Isbell Freedom HS

Monday, October 7, 2019 by The Press in School

Grade: 11th

Family members: Gail (mom), Jim (dad), Jack (Older brother), Ryan (younger brother), Piper (dog)

Favorite subject(s): My favorite subject is definitely journalism, because becoming a journalist is what I want to become. In journalism, I get to experience my dream career every single day.

Activities: Outside of journalism I am on my school’s tennis team and I love to play tennis with both of my parents in my free time. I am also largely involved in acting, it has been a huge part of my life since I was 10 and I love to act. I also love skiing, I learned when I was 7 and have loved doing it ever since.

Next steps: After high school, I want to attend a university to study broadcast journalism and radio and tv, to eventually become a broadcast journalist. I also want to continue acting with my acting coach.

Career goals: I want to branch out into numerous sources of income; however, my main career goal is to become a broadcast journalist for a major news outlet, such as Fox News, CNN, or even smaller social media news such as MTV. And having a major acting role in a movie wouldn’t be so bad either.

Heroes: My heroes are both of my parents. No matter what I’ve decided to do, they have always been right by my side supporting me. I cannot express the gratitude that I have for both my mom and dad. Throughout all of my decisions, my parents have stuck by me no matter what. Both of them are huge role models for me in different ways. My dad is so strong, not just physically, even though he has a million things on his list of to-do’s he still has time to come and watch any of my sports events. My mom is also strong, she keeps her cool in times of stress, which holds the whole family down. I would be a proud adult if I turned out like the both of them when I am older.

Hobbies: My hobbies include skiing, reading, playing tennis, playing basketball, and spending time with family and friends.

Current job(s): I am currently not working; however, this past summer I worked as a lifeguard at Colonial Crest apartments.

Volunteer/community work: For my community service hours, I assisted my acting coach this past summer with her younger acting class in NYC, I helped her with anything the kids needed, acting-wise.

Likes: I enjoy spending time with my family on the weekends; I love playing board games with them. I also love doing things outside such as skiing, walking my dog, and playing basketball with my brother.

Dislikes: I don’t like when my phone runs out of battery and I also dislike the smell of celery.

Greatest accomplishment (so far): I would have to say that my greatest accomplishment so far was interning at WDIY radio station over the summer. I was extremely happy with my work because I created three segments, two for Festival Unbound (a festival happening in October) and one that I constructed by myself. The one I constructed by myself was about my journey being diagnosed with celiac disease.All three segments will be aired on their radio station.

Advice for peers: I think that the best advice I could give to any of my peers is that you’re only in high school once, make an impression on your school and strive to do your best every single day. Be so successful that your future self can look back and say that you are proud of what you’ve accomplished. As my mom tells me every single day, “rock your day, I know you will.”