Bethlehem Press

Monday, October 15, 2018

LIVING BY FAITH - I thought I was done with Sunday school

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! As I sit here, I wonder what I should share. Should I share my current thoughts, feelings and fears? Or should I go the safer route and share more from my first few months?

I know the purpose of writing this column is to share the challenges I face, in addition to the culture, but the challenges from this month are still problematic and still too close to the surface. Instead of the current events, I think I will take you back in time to when I first moved here.

REFLECTIONS

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

First day of school

Monday. August 27, 2018. 7:45 a.m. Center Street. The bus driver and I locked eyes. Sharing daggers. His eyes flicked to his mirror. Cars disappearing over the hill, stacked maybe to Macada, tires impatiently pawing the asphalt. My eyes flicked to my mirror. Cars back to Dewberry, menacing, growling, like a hungry pride behind a lead lion blocking their way to a fresh Zebra carcass. The bus driver and I locked eyes again, severely slit now. Our fuses blown. The bus finally lurched forward like a carriage on a roller coaster.

Ross: ‘Data is the raw material’

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by MICHELLE MEEH in Opinion

Technology policy expert Alec Ross spoke on “Innovation Education and the Industries of the Future” as part of the Cohen Arts & Lecture Series at Moravian College Sept. 12. An expert on innovation, cybersecurity, and internet freedom, he is the author of the New York Times bestseller, “The Industries of the Future.”

Ross is the former Senior Advisor for Innovation for the State Department and was named one of the “Top 100 Global Thinkers” by Foreign Policy magazine and Huffington Post’s “10 Game Changers in Politics.”

The importance of community journalism, news

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Recently Bethlehem Press editor George Taylor was asked to speak about community journalism at the National Federation of Press Women’s conference in Bethlehem.

Taylor asked readers to share their thoughts on the importance of local news and on the Bethlehem Press.

Here are a few of the responses he got and used in his presentation.

Local news not only helps voters, but it stimulates some of them to come to council meetings, stimulates some of those to speak, and may even stimulate one or two to run for office, as happened quite recently in Bethlehem.

Another view

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization (WHO) recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.

LIVING BY FAITH - Learning to be a good teacher

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! When I moved to Montana, I thought that I knew how to be a great teacher. I knew what the textbooks said, and I did really well in my classes at Lehigh Carbon Community College and Bloomsburg University, but boy have I learned a lot in the past few months.

Yes, I know the facts and theories, however I didn’t know how to put them into practice. In fact, I am still working on it; teaching is quite a difficult job. I think the books leave out the part about students bringing in their own personalities, attitudes and experiences to your classroom and how one deals with all that.