Bethlehem Press

Friday, October 18, 2019

SENATOR PAT TOOMEY

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Perpetrators

“The mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton are the latest, horrific examples of the violent scourge that is gripping America.

The perpetrators of these murders are cowards.

We must do more to keep guns out of the hands of psychopaths.

While no law will end mass shootings entirely, it’s time for Congress to act to help keep our communities safer.

We should start by passing bipartisan proposals such as my legislation with Sen. Joe Manchin, D-WV, to expand background checks to all commercial firearm sales.

‘Enough’

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

Somebody please do something

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Here are the facts as we know them as of this past weekend:

There was another shooting – the 250th of the year.

Aug. 4: Dayton, Ohio –mass shooting in historic district, 9 dead, 27 injured.

Aug. 3: El Paso, Texas – mass shooting in Walmart, 20 dead, 26 injured.

Aug. 2: Pomfred, Md. – domestic shooting, three dead, 1 injured.

Aug. 2: Suffolk, Va. – multiple crime scenes, two dead, three injured.

Mass shootings in the United States this year, according to the Gun Violence Archives, include:

January – 28 mass shootings, 50 killed, 86 wounded.

Legislator contactS

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815,

GOVERNOR TOM WOLF

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘We must act’

“Frances and I are mourning an especially horrific 24 hours of gun violence in America. We’re praying for the victims of El Paso and Dayton and two young women shot in Philadelphia last night. Many ills contribute to this rising violence. We can and must take action.

“We can ban assault weapons and institute stricter background checks. We can make communities safer. We can target white nationalism and promote tolerance. We can invest in mental health care and help those struggling.

We cannot accept this violence as normal.

We must act.

LETTER

Tuesday, July 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Moravian College assists development

Stephen’s Place Incorporated is a structured recovery house for men who have been incarcerated and suffer from the disease of addiction. It is a non-profit facility run by Director Sister Virginia Longcope and Program Coordinator Sherman Myers. Their mission is to help these men integrate back into society to become both successful and productive members of that society.

LETTER

Tuesday, July 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Sense of place, sharing

It was with great excitement that we read this week about several buildings designed by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright -- including Pennsylvania’s own Fallingwater -- being named World Heritage Sites. Fallingwater joins Independence Hall as Pennsylvania’s two entries on a prestigious global list that includes iconic sites such as The Great Wall of China, the Acropolis in Greece and the Sydney Opera House in Australia.