Bethlehem Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

Educators, students made the supreme sacrifice

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 by JIM ZBICK in Opinion

The personal photographs we saw of those killed in last week’s shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida could have been from any town or city in America.

Candid shots reflected much happier times in the lives of the young victims.

One shows a smiling Jennifer Bloom Guttenberg, a talented 14-year-old dancer who her friends remembered had a mischievous sense of humor.

Freshman Alyssa Alhadeff wears a broad smile in her soccer team uniform; another shows her getting a hug from her proud “pop pop.”

Is it time to amend the Constitution?

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 by CLIFF RIEDERS in Opinion

In the latest public school massacre at least 17 people were killed when a former student, armed with an AR-15 rifle opened fire at a high school on St. Valentine’s Day.

Some say this is a time for grieving, not to talk about gun control. Perhaps we have grieved enough, due to the epidemic of gun violence in the United States. It is time to have a serious conversation about guns.

COMMON SENSE PLAN

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 by BERNIE O’HARE in Opinion

Morganellli’s nine-step common sense plan to reduce gun violence.

1) Pass “The Parents Responsible Gun Ownership Act.” - This would require gun owners to secure their firearms if they live with minors, violent criminals or the mentally ill. One of every three firearms is loaded and unsecured, even though most children know where their parents keep their guns.

2) Ban Bump Stocks, which make it easy to turn a semi-automatic weapon into one that fires continuously.

3) Require background checks on all sales of long guns.

DA proposes common-sense approach to gun violence

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 by BERNIE O’HARE in Opinion

John Morganelli may be a candidate for Congress, but he’s also Pennsylvania’s most senior district attorney. He sees firsthand what guns can do.

The most recent mass shooting of students at a Florida high school has prompted him to once again propose legislation he originally advocated back in the 1990s. It’s part of a nine-step agenda that he wants the law enforcement community to consider and advocate in Harrisburg and, if necessary, in Washington. He is also requesting that immediate steps be taken in Northampton County to reduce gun violence.

Will Social Security be there for me when I retire?

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I recently printed my statement from Social Security to see my projected benefits after reading comments on Facebook that the fund has been “tapped twice” and there probably won’t be any money for me when I’m ready to retire.

The saying, “You can’t believe everything you read on Facebook” is partially true in this case.

The years 2020 and 2034 seem to be important dates in the life of Social Security. Those are the years the funds may be in question with a projected deficit.

Real news is real foundation of democracy

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 by MARK COHEN in Opinion

Mark Zuckerberg recently announced that Facebook would begin prioritizing high-quality news on the social network by allowing its users to rank news sources that they see as the most credible and trustworthy citing “too much sensationalism, misinformation and polarization in the world today.”

Shortly after this statement was made, the New York Times’ stock jumped nearly 9%, indicating that the public’s interest in Real News has hit the comeback trail. For newspaper companies and newspaper readers across Pennsylvania, it never left.