Bethlehem Press

Friday, March 22, 2019

Bush legacy: ‘A truly beautiful human being’

Thursday, December 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

President George H.W. Bush espoused family and faith, and the values and virtues instilled in him growing up during the Depression years were building blocks for an extraordinary life of service to the nation.

During the recent moving eulogies in Washington, D.C., and in Texas, we repeatedly heard words like humility, grace, kindness, friendship and loyalty during the glowing tributes.

The accolades were refreshing, given the stream of toxic language spewing out of Washington now that divides the nation along political lines.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, December 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

This time of year, reflect on what you’ve done with your life

I read a book that a client gave me while I was on vacation recently. The book is titled “Imagine Heaven” by John Burke. The book’s main theme is to take a hard look at your life and see what you have actually done with it. This is an internal reflection of what really is important to you individually. Is it your family, faith, work, awards and accomplishments, social status, helping others including volunteering? The book asks repeatedly, “If you died today (death can come at any age), what have you actually done with your life?”

Hanukkah: The culture wars

Monday, December 10, 2018 by CLIFF RIEDERS in Opinion

Hanukkah, a minor Jewish holiday, is often celebrated as a military victory. The Seleucid Greeks, ancestors of Alexander the Great, oppressed the Jews and did not permit them to practice their religion. Zeus was erected as a statue in the Holy Temple, and a swine was slaughtered there. The practice and teaching of Judaism was forbidden. The Maccabees rose up and won many battles against the most powerful nation in the world.

Bacchanalia clarification

Monday, December 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Dear Editor:

I appreciate the coverage of Bacchanalia in your 11/28/18 edition by Tracy Rice. I have some clarifications if you could please print them in your next edition with the Fountain Hill coverage.

The Bacchanalia committee raised $11,500 at their annual event in 2018.

$2500 was donated to the Fountain Hill Little League

$9000 was donated to the Borough of Fountain Hill:

$4500 to the Recreational Improvement Fund

$4500 to the Lechauweki Restoration Fund

Our next event Bacchanalia XVI will be held on 4/6/2019.

Asking church, BES: Be good neighbors

Tuesday, November 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the editor,

I am writing in response to Gary Marsh’s letter to the Press this week regarding the homeless shelter run last winter by Bethlehem Emergency Sheltering at Christ UCC on Market Street. I am one of a group of neighbors who recently delivered a letter to Bethlehem City Council which described many troubling incidents that occurred last winter, and which Mr. Marsh denies actually happened.