Bethlehem Press

Monday, February 17, 2020

Legislator contactS

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815,

GOVERNOR TOM WOLF

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘We must act’

“Frances and I are mourning an especially horrific 24 hours of gun violence in America. We’re praying for the victims of El Paso and Dayton and two young women shot in Philadelphia last night. Many ills contribute to this rising violence. We can and must take action.

“We can ban assault weapons and institute stricter background checks. We can make communities safer. We can target white nationalism and promote tolerance. We can invest in mental health care and help those struggling.

We cannot accept this violence as normal.

We must act.

LETTER

Tuesday, July 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Moravian College assists development

Stephen’s Place Incorporated is a structured recovery house for men who have been incarcerated and suffer from the disease of addiction. It is a non-profit facility run by Director Sister Virginia Longcope and Program Coordinator Sherman Myers. Their mission is to help these men integrate back into society to become both successful and productive members of that society.

LETTER

Tuesday, July 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Sense of place, sharing

It was with great excitement that we read this week about several buildings designed by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright -- including Pennsylvania’s own Fallingwater -- being named World Heritage Sites. Fallingwater joins Independence Hall as Pennsylvania’s two entries on a prestigious global list that includes iconic sites such as The Great Wall of China, the Acropolis in Greece and the Sydney Opera House in Australia.

Another View

Monday, July 15, 2019 by SAMANTHA ANDERSON in Opinion

Women’s soccer team focused on goals, equality

United States women’s national soccer team, USWNT, earned a record fourth title win when they faced off against the Netherlands, the European champions, July 7 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. This 2-0 win marks the culmination of the immense skill and hard work demonstrated by these athletes over the years.

ANOTHER VIEW

Monday, July 15, 2019 by BERNIE O’HARE in Opinion

Wolf’s end run over voting machines

Last year, Governor Tom Wolf decreed that all 67 counties must have voting systems with voter-verifiable paper trails in time for next year’s presidential election. But on July 5, he vetoed a bill that would help them pay for it because it also eliminated straight-party voting. Now he’s attempting an end run. With no legislative authority, he’s attempting to borrow $90 million through the Pennsylvania Economic Development Financing Authority (PEDFA). Good luck with that!

The Downsizing Decision (nearing 80)

Monday, July 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

My house is too heavy –

It’s filled with floors unreached,

rooms unentered;

Closets with doors unclosed

Cover clothes that won’t fit.

My house is too heavy --

It’s filled with books unread,

yet hours of lead,

with shelves that are filled

with the slumber of pills.

My house is too heavy --

It’s filled with settings for eight

when two will do,

with a yard that from inside

seems a mile wide or two.

My house is too heavy --

It’s filled with problems unresolved,

with promises unfulfilled,