Bethlehem Press

Sunday, January 20, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Tuesday, August 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s build again like we did last summer

It is blockbuster superhero movie season, and a sequel to a proven hit wrapped last month.

In July, 21 girls from the Lehigh Valley and beyond gathered at Associated Builders and Contractors Inc. Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter, Marcon Boulevard, Allentown, to participate in the second Let’s Build Camp, a weeklong program for young women/superheroes interested in architecture, engineering, construction, building and the construction trades.

Among many skills, campers learned to frame a wall, replace windows, make bricks, install siding and shingle roofs.

LIVING BY FAITH North, south, east, west

Tuesday, August 28, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki!

Let me take you back to the month of August 2017. In my first piece, I discussed my feelings as my family drove away and left me to my new path in Montana. During that month, I found my neighbors to be a little standoffish. Only a few would talk to me, and they only had tales of terror about my new home, Browning. One neighbor even went so far as to say that I am too white to teach in Browning, and I needed to be stern, strict, and hide all my feelings in the hopes that my students and their families would be OK with me.

Wawa music

Tuesday, August 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

We are a divided country, they say. You wouldn’t know that if you pass through the doors of my Wawa on Eighth Avenue during the morning rush. It’s always a bit of a jam, but those narrow passageways are zones of perfect harmony filled with constant comments of gratuitous grace. If you listen you can hear shared humanity. I call it Wawa music. You first . . . After you . . . Ooops, pardon me . . . Let me get that for you . . . I’ll hold it! . . . Need help with that? . . . No rush . . . No trouble . . . No problem. What! No problem? Think of that! No problem!

Star quilts and receding fears

Tuesday, August 21, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki!

Have you ever felt like a total hypocrite? As I was preparing for my big move, everyone told me I was so brave, courageous and adventurous. The truth is I was terrified. What if I wasn’t what those who hired me were expecting? Would I encounter racism? After all, white settlers stole the land, sent the natives to reservations and created boarding schools for native children that were things from nightmares. Would I offend them without knowing?

Another view

Tuesday, August 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school time is upon us once again

It seems as if the end of the school year was just last week. But here we are, Aug. 15, and many schools begin classes Aug. 27.

Since August is when students return to school, this month is National Back to School Month.

According to nationaldaycalendar.com, “National Back to School Month has been observed since the 1960s.

HOMEFRONT--Children sometimes have learn from their mistakes

Monday, August 6, 2018 by DENISE CONTINENZA in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!” Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.