Bethlehem Press

Friday, March 22, 2019

I am where I am meant to be

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! I have finished my first year of teaching second grade in Browning, Montana. By the time you read this I will have started my second year of teaching. Some have asked me if I will be staying in the same school for the 2018-19 school year, and the answer is yes. Was it an easy year? No. I struggled with loneness, fears, the cold, snow, wind, health issues and teaching my students. I have overcome most of my fears, however, and I’m not nearly as lonely as I had been.

Save the historic

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a shame when a usable building is demolished. It’s more of a shame when half of it is historic. But that’s what ArtsQuest wants to do in demolishing five of the six buildings that comprise the Banana Factory, two of them historic, in order to build a new, considerably taller building that would include the remaining historic building and take part of the parking lot. Why not leave the present fun, charming. and useful building and use more of the parking lot for an expansion, since there is now a new parking garage only one block away?

Bill Scheirer

Bethlehem

The same 10 people

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

For months I have heard rumors that a few members of Bethlehem’s seven-member city council have special code words they use to ridicule residents who regularly attend council meetings.

‘The same 10 people,’ or ‘STP,’ is a designation apparently reserved for those who care about the city enough that they make the effort to attend these meetings regularly and participate in ‘public comment’ if they have an opinion to voice.

LIVING BY FAITH - I thought I was done with Sunday school

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! As I sit here, I wonder what I should share. Should I share my current thoughts, feelings and fears? Or should I go the safer route and share more from my first few months?

I know the purpose of writing this column is to share the challenges I face, in addition to the culture, but the challenges from this month are still problematic and still too close to the surface. Instead of the current events, I think I will take you back in time to when I first moved here.

REFLECTIONS

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

First day of school

Monday. August 27, 2018. 7:45 a.m. Center Street. The bus driver and I locked eyes. Sharing daggers. His eyes flicked to his mirror. Cars disappearing over the hill, stacked maybe to Macada, tires impatiently pawing the asphalt. My eyes flicked to my mirror. Cars back to Dewberry, menacing, growling, like a hungry pride behind a lead lion blocking their way to a fresh Zebra carcass. The bus driver and I locked eyes again, severely slit now. Our fuses blown. The bus finally lurched forward like a carriage on a roller coaster.

Ross: ‘Data is the raw material’

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 by MICHELLE MEEH in Opinion

Technology policy expert Alec Ross spoke on “Innovation Education and the Industries of the Future” as part of the Cohen Arts & Lecture Series at Moravian College Sept. 12. An expert on innovation, cybersecurity, and internet freedom, he is the author of the New York Times bestseller, “The Industries of the Future.”

Ross is the former Senior Advisor for Innovation for the State Department and was named one of the “Top 100 Global Thinkers” by Foreign Policy magazine and Huffington Post’s “10 Game Changers in Politics.”