Bethlehem Press

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

A look back on Christmas past

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas Day has come and gone once again. As we reflect on the joys we've shared this past holiday season, let us look back on another Christmas of long ago.

Described as the happiest Christmas in years, Christmas 1922 was truly a special time.

Downtown, shoppers were out in full force making their holiday purchases at places such as Bush & Bull, corner of Broad and Main, where Christmas cards could be had for the trifling cost of five cents.

The heroes among us

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

By Debra Galbraith, East Penn Press editor

Many of us attended church on Sunday; I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the shooting in Connecticut Dec. 14.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel, especially so close to the joyous season of Christmas.

A way to show kindness to Sandy Hook

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Even with the magnitude of Friday's events, we can let residents of Newtown, Conn., know we are thinking about them and holding them in healing thoughts.

The children and families of their community are forever changed.

I would love to show support to the school from towns all over our area.

Have the children and/or adults in your family create artwork for the students of Sandy Hook. Even young children can contribute without knowing anything other than they are drawling a picture for other children to "cheer them up" or "make them smile."

A 1930s Christmas

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Though they no longer live in Bethlehem, the sights and sounds of the Christmas season still send the Shelly family drifting back to the magical days of their youth.

Christmas was a special time for siblings Wayne, Edgar, Eleanor and Paul, who grew up a mile north of Liberty HS at 2017 Linden St. The family was gracious enough to share many of the fond Christmas memories made while growing up in their hometown.

Each year Wayne Shelly, now of Allentown, could hardly wait to set up the Christmas Putz.

Christmas on the Southside

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, it's the most wonderful time of the year!

Last week, I brought to your attention an ongoing attempt to gather memories of Christmas right here in the Christmas City. The response has been great. Keep the letters coming.

A piece of mail I received from James Ammend paints a spectacular picture of what Christmas was like on the Southside. Ammend was raised on Ontario Street and attended Holy Ghost School from 1948 to 1956. Here's what he had to say:

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff'

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,

Their first thoughts were not of a country in debt.

Thoughts on giving puppies

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

How about a sweet little puppy under the tree for the kids this year? Not so fast – better check that list and check it twice about puppies as Christmas presents.

With the holiday season fast approaching, people are getting into the gift giving spirit and the number one pick on the Christmas Wish List of many youngsters is a puppy. Advertisements abound with deals on dog accessories and signs loom over pet stores, "puppies ready for a new home this Christmas."