Bethlehem Press

Friday, March 22, 2019

The importance of community journalism, news

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Recently Bethlehem Press editor George Taylor was asked to speak about community journalism at the National Federation of Press Women’s conference in Bethlehem.

Taylor asked readers to share their thoughts on the importance of local news and on the Bethlehem Press.

Here are a few of the responses he got and used in his presentation.

Local news not only helps voters, but it stimulates some of them to come to council meetings, stimulates some of those to speak, and may even stimulate one or two to run for office, as happened quite recently in Bethlehem.

Another view

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization (WHO) recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.

LIVING BY FAITH - Learning to be a good teacher

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! When I moved to Montana, I thought that I knew how to be a great teacher. I knew what the textbooks said, and I did really well in my classes at Lehigh Carbon Community College and Bloomsburg University, but boy have I learned a lot in the past few months.

Yes, I know the facts and theories, however I didn’t know how to put them into practice. In fact, I am still working on it; teaching is quite a difficult job. I think the books leave out the part about students bringing in their own personalities, attitudes and experiences to your classroom and how one deals with all that.

ANOTHER VIEW

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 by DEB GALBRAITH in Opinion

Mourning a true hero’s passing

The nation was rocked again Aug. 25 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., 81, died from a brain tumor known as glioblastoma.

He was diagnosed in July 2017 following a procedure to remove a blood clot above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

McCain died nine years to the day after his friend Sen. Ted Kennedy, D-Mass., died from the same cancer, which affects 10,000 Americans each year.

Today the sun is shining

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 by CARINA STOVES in Opinion

Oki! Once the school year began, my mood began to rise and I started to feel like I was home. Yes, I still missed my family, but things seemed brighter. Of course, it was helpful that my aunt was flying out to see me at the end of the month.

A lot of things happened in September. Our air quality was low because wildfires were at their peak. However, the snow quickly fixed that at the end of the month. It was also the month that I moved from an apartment into a house. My pup, Faith, was too loud during the day for us to remain in the apartment.

ANOTHER VIEW

Tuesday, August 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s build again like we did last summer

It is blockbuster superhero movie season, and a sequel to a proven hit wrapped last month.

In July, 21 girls from the Lehigh Valley and beyond gathered at Associated Builders and Contractors Inc. Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter, Marcon Boulevard, Allentown, to participate in the second Let’s Build Camp, a weeklong program for young women/superheroes interested in architecture, engineering, construction, building and the construction trades.

Among many skills, campers learned to frame a wall, replace windows, make bricks, install siding and shingle roofs.