Bethlehem Press

Monday, July 13, 2020

Vintage years: Quality of life can make or break a community

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What qualities should Allentown's next police chief possess?

That interesting question recently was put to city residents by Mayor Ed Pawlowski, who will choose a new top cop in the fall.

My husband and I attended the mayor's information-gathering meeting and were disappointed with the relatively sparse turnout.

The attitude of folks who didn't plan to attend seemed to be, as one neighbor put it: "It makes no difference who's in charge. Nothing will change."

I disagree.

Editor's View: Customer beware: You don't know who you will find in the store dressing room

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I was trying on clothes at Kohl's recently when I heard a male voice.

Putting my own clothing back on, I opened the stall door to find a young couple discussing clothing the woman was trying on. They were not just near the dressing room. They were well inside it.

"This is a woman's dressing room," I said. "You need to leave."

The man didn't argue but his girlfriend got angry and, when I refused to back down, she called me "crazy" and stormed out saying, "I guess I'll have to go change in the men's room."

Another View: Summer is the season of Lions

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Summer is the season of Lions.

Let me explain.

My father was a dedicated member of the Lower Lehigh Lions and summer, in my memory at least, was the season when the Lions calendar got in full swing: Bookended by flea market and garage sales in May and September, the summer calendar included my dad's shifts at breakfasts at Macungie Memorial Park and stints at Wheels of Time and Das Awkscht Fesch.

Our home phone number was among those listed to "make reservations or for more information" for various events.

Another view: Bethlehem officials should serve city, not teachers' union

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, Bethlehem dedicated a new Visitor Center at its SteelStacks campus, the heart of what is quickly becoming the Lehigh Valley's arts and entertainment district. With quick access to PBS, the ArtsQuest Center, Banana Factory and Levitt Pavilion, the South Side is an artists' haven. Soon, there will even be homes for the creative, with low-rent housing planned at the vacant St. Stanislaus Church. So it makes sense that The Lehigh Valley Charter High School for the Arts would want to relocate to East Third Street, with a three-story school for 600 students.

Glazed donut sandwich 'healthier' than some items

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by JO-ELLEN DARLING Special to the Bethlehem Press in Opinion

On June 7 - National Donut Day - Dunkin' Donuts launched its latest breakfast item: the Glazed Donut Breakfast Sandwich with a whopping 360 calories and 20 grams of fat (8 saturated fat). Touted as a "smorgasbord of bacon slices and pepper fried egg, sandwiched by a Glazed Donut," a poster of this sandwich is displayed prominently in the foyer of the Linden Street and Elizabeth Avenue shop in Bethlehem.

Women's heart health A conversation with Prasanna Sugathan, M.D.

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by MARY PATRICIA FLETCHER Special to The Press in Opinion

The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute launched a campaign called The Heart Truth to raise women's awareness of their risk for heart disease. The symbol for this campaign is the Red Dress. Everyone can support this campaign by wearing red on National Wear Red Day on the first Friday in February.

QWhat is heart disease?

THIS WEEK IN BETHLEHM HISTORY: Life on Wall Street

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

There was a time when trolley cars ran all throughout Bethlehem. Many times in her youth, Johanna Bees, 90, took advantage of the late night trolley, catching a ride home at 1 a.m.

After getting off downtown, Johanna would walk to her house on nearby Wall Street. A stone's throw away from God's Acre, Bees grew up amidst the historic Moravian buildings.

LETTERS: A gift for every graduate

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Dear Editor:

It's that time of year again. Graduations are upon us and students are now preparing to embark on the next stage of their lives. Whether going on to school or entering the military or the workforce, this is a big moment in a young person's life. As the celebrations begin, why not give a new graduate a gift that will last for years to come; why not help them to register to vote?